Handing Out the Hardware

Late April means the minor hockey season is wrapping up, the snow is finally melting, and it’s time for the DBOA Annual General Meeting!  Officials gather each year to bid each other a good summer, debate wording of our constitution, enjoy a few snacks, and recognize our award winners for the season past!

A few of our award winners are featured below.  Be on the lookout over the summer for some “Official Profiles” where we will go more in depth with our winners, to find out more about how they got into officiating, what they love about it, and more!

Brandy Beecroft, DBOA Director of Discipline, handing out the Locker Room Vet award to Paul Mallette:


Fred Cosgrove, DBOA Referee in Chief, handing out the Helping Hand award to Dan Arbuckle:


Director of Supervisions, Mike Ostrom, and DBOA Official Brad Spence, handing out the first annual Daniel R Spence Memorial Award to Daniel Wong-Fung:

IMG_4467 (1)

Unavailable to join us for the AGM were Ethan Greene, winner of the Official of the Year award, and Tyler Glenn, winner of the Rookie of the Year award.

Not long after the AGM, Hockey Eastern Ontario announced the winners of the Officiating Branch Awards.  The selection pool for these awards is not only officials across District B, but officials all across HEO.  We were proud to have one of our DBOA officials honoured, Abbey McMillian, as Most Promising Official in HEO.


Congrats to all the winners!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: